Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design

Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design

“Campaign Arkansas will bring an important difference in the quality of education our students will receive and the impact on the state of Arkansas. The University of Arkansas is the flagship university and must lead us into a brighter future. And it will take the commitment of all of us – whether it’s time, energy, imagination, dollars, or political influence – to empower the University of Arkansas to be the educational and economic engine that the state needs.”

- Ted (B.Arch. ’81) & Leslie Belden (B.Arch. ’79, Ph.D. ’05), Committee Members

The Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design is a professional design school providing excellence in teaching, research and service within a vibrant intellectual community that generates an energy and passion for great design, while nurturing talent, intellectual agility, optimism, and resourcefulness our students need to develop into the leaders in their respective design disciplines and in their communities. Within the curricular context of an excellent professional design education, we provide a vital school-wide design culture and educational environment grounded in critical thinking, multidisciplinary collaborations and civic engagement. Design leadership in architecture, landscape architecture and interior design is the central focus of the school.

The Fay Jones School is named after the internationally renowned architect Fay Jones who was a member of first graduating class of architecture students, taught for 35 years and served as the school’s first dean.

Total Goal: $71,270,000

Campaign Committee

Mary Purvis, Development Lead

Coy Talley, Co-Chair

Lanny McIntosh, Co-Chair

Mark Weaver, Co-Chair

Aubra Anthony

Chris Baribeau

Leslie Belden

Ted Belden

Ray Dillon

Don Edmondson, Honorary Chair

Ellen Edmondson, Honorary Chair

Billy Fleming III

Tim Graham

Carl Kernodle

John Marrs

Charles McKinney

Ann Odell

Samuel Pate

Charley Penix

Ken Shollmier, Honorary Chair

Linda Sue Shollmier, Honorary Chair

Trinity Simons

Scott Smith

Joe Stanley

Jane Williams

Aaron Young

Campaign Strategic Objectives

Student Access and Graduation

Student Access & Recruitment

  • Recruitment
  • Scholarships
  • Career Development
Outreach and Collaboration

Outreach & Collaboration

  • Faculty
  • Program Endowments

Renewal & Transformational

  • Advanced & Graduate Programs
  • Civic Engagements

Key Contacts

Mary Purvis

Mary Purvis
Director of Development

Ryan Peters

Ryan Peters
Fiscal Support Specialist, Gift Services

Peter MacKeith

Peter MacKeith